Setup and Update

Plugin may require some small setup action in order to compile in your device with no issue.  If plugin isn’t installed, the window of settings will be opened automatically in the Inspector view. If for some reason it isn't opened after you import the plugin, go to:

Window → Stan's Assets → Ultimate Mobile → Edit Settings

Press the Install Plugin button.  After the successful installation you should see the message which is similar to the one on the picture below.

Since Android is based functionally on the Android Native plugin, you may want to read the following articles:

Important: You need an additional setup for Windows Phone 8 platform build. Don't miss the Setup for WP8 guide if you are using this platform

How to update

With every new update, we try to make the plugin better: adding new features, improving stability, usability and code base structure. When a new version is available, you can find out what’s new with the versions page.

Sometimes in order to implement a new feature or improve the code structure, we have to change some of the plugin files / folders or method names. Of course, it will be described in the version notes. But if you simply click update in the Asset Store, you may get duplicated or conflicted files.

After the new plugin version is downloaded and unpacked to your project, window of settings will be opened automatically in the Inspector view. If for some reason it isn't opened after you import a new version, open plugins settings yourself. 

Window → Stan's Assets → Ultimate Mobile → Edit Settings

This was a minor update. For example v 9.3 to 9.3.1 / 9.3.3 / 9.3.7, etc - It means that we haven't made any significant changes with the plugin structure, and you will see a message as on the screenshot bellow. All you need to do in this case - is to press a "Upgrade Resources" button.

If the message looks similar to this one:

It means that some plugin parts were changed, and keeping old ones may result as unwanted conflicts or unpredicted behaviour. So we recommend to remove the old version of plugin completely before installing the new one.

Just press the "Remove" button, and then install the new version. And do not worry about your settings, they will not change. Remove button will only remove the files of plugin, the files of ettings will be unharmed. And if you want to transfer your setting to another project, you might be interested in reading the next chapter.

Settings Location

All files of settings of Stan's Assets plugins are located under:

Assets/Plugins/StansAssets/Support/Settings/Resources

This folder will remain unharmed by the plugin removal tool. In case you want to transfer a setting to another project, you can just copy  / paste files from this folder to another project.

In case you want remove and reinstall a plugin manually, or you also have other Stan's Assets plugins inside your project, you can just remove and following folders:

  • All folders under: Assets/Plugins/StansAssets/ except Assets/Plugins/StansAssets/Support/Settings/Resources
  • Assets/Plugins/ -  You can remove the whole folder, in case you do not have any other plugins inside your project, or your own files inside Plugins folder. And if you do, remove only files that are related to the plugin you want to remove. This step may be unclear, we are trying to use understandable naming convention for our files, so it should be easy to determine what files / folder are related to the plugin you are trying to remove. But that's why we strongly recommend the usage of the plugin removal tool, since it will be definitely safely for other products that you have inside your project.